A Few Words About Me...
I was born near Sandomierz, a beautiful and one of the oldest and historically most significant cities in Poland. The history of the city dates back to the early Middle Ages with its official founding occuring before 1227. Currently, Sandomierz is ranked among most popular tourist cities in Poland. It has many tourist attractions, including a spectacular Old Town Square, a medieval Sandomierz Royal Castle, and a beatiful 14th century Gothic cathedral (the one I got married in :-)). You should definitely plan to visit Sandomierz when you're visiting southern part of Poland!
Since my early teenage years I have been interested in math and science and fascinated with learning foreign languages. In my high school - Collegium Gostomianum in Sandomierz (one of the oldest schools in Poland founded in 1602) - I focused on mathematics and physics. After graduating from high school, I decided to pursue my second passion - foreign languages - and hence I started my German language studies at the Teacher Training College in Sandomierz. After completing my B.A. degree, I moved to Warsaw to begin my graduate education in German language studies in the Department of Applied Linguistics at the University of Warsaw. I earned there my M.A. degree in June 2000. While pursuing my graduate degree in Warsaw, I also started my professional career working in a Polish branch of a multinational company headquartered in Germany. This early professional experience gave me an opportunity to learn more about business and international collaboration. It also sparked my interest in exploring the world of business and economics which I had an opportunity to further investigate later on in my life.
In Warsaw I also met my husband Rafal and we got married (in Sandomierz of course) in 2002.
In 2001, I moved to Fairfax, VA to start my educational experience in the U.S. at George Mason University. Initially, I focused on business education but quickly moved to economics program as I felt I could better utilize there my math and science skills. At GMU, I earned my B.S. degree in Spring 2004 and started my Ph.D. program the following semester. Under the supervision of Professor Robin Hanson, I defended my dissertation on December 8, 2009 and earned my Ph.D. degree in economics in January 2010.
Currently, I live in Ashburn, VA right next to Dulles International Airport. I enjoy spending time with my family, including a three-year old son Matthew and our newborn daughter Kaja. Whenever I find some time (it can be really difficult with two small kids :-)), I enjoy traveling and mountain hiking.